42 Flash Challenge – January 9, 2016 Day 9

Only one (lunar) month until Chinese New Year – and the release of FlashDogs’ 3rd anthology – I wonder if you can pre-order it now?

If everything goes according to plan, Cracked Flash should be up and running.

Today’s Prompt: Impending Joy or your Cracked Flash entry!

Author: mtdecker

Just your average writer- which is to say, I have a full-time job developing and testing software.

1 thought on “42 Flash Challenge – January 9, 2016 Day 9”

  1. Today’s flash (and yay, I’m caught up again) was written for Cracked Flash at http://crackedflash.blogspot.com/

    The prompt for cracked flash was: “I can’t answer that–you’ll beat me up.” (the story must start with a variation of the line supplied.

    My entry:

    Gaming the Odds
    144 words
    @mishmhem
    #FlashDogs

    “Answer that, I cannot, for beat me up, you will.”

    Eve looked at me for a moment, and I could see her parsing out my statement. Understanding warred with delight as I couched my fear in ‘Yoda Speak.’

    It was a 50/50 gamble. She had demanded I speak the truth, and failure would have resulted in death.

    Outright fear would have resulted in death, so couching the sentiment at least doubled my odds of survival.

    But… if I’m doubling no chance with a chance… then… Math never was my strong suit.

    I watched as Eve’s fingers flexed along the hilt of her sword.

    This was so… not good.

    She paused, weighing her words than nodded. “I accept his answer.”

    “Good, roll your initiative…”

    The game would run another night at least and that gave me another week to figure out her next move.

    Like

Leave a Reply

