January 3, 2017 day 3 – 42 Flash 2017 edition

Sometimes the newest challenge we face in the new year is remembering to change the year when we write down dates… or is that just me?

Today’s prompt: Habit

 

Author: mtdecker

Just your average writer- which is to say, I have a full-time job developing and testing software.

1 thought on “January 3, 2017 day 3 – 42 Flash 2017 edition”

  1. I had fallen out of the habit of watching my shadow. I guess I’d grown too complacent. Lulled into a false sense of security I allowed myself to follow routine. There was no need to look around, no need to count the shadows – I had left that world behind.

    Or so I thought.

    It happened one midnight when I found myself alone in the kitchen, looking for something to eat – it was then I noticed that my shadow had changed. It was no longer a reflection of me– it was something strange and scattered. Even as I tried to move it came at me.

    Caught between the light from the stove and the one from the fridge it came at me from different directions, closing in until the darkness claimed me and I was trapped. Unable to move I heard the voices.

    “She slipped on the linoleum…” “Concussion” “Oxygen deprivation…” “Shame…”

    And then I heard the other voices calling to me. “Welcome home, sister.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

