January 18, 2022

Support

We all want to feel supported. We all want to see ourselves in the best light available– but that doesn’t always happen.

I’m diabetic. There are a lot of people who either don’t understand the disease or think since I’m Type 2 it’s all my fault for eating the wrong things. Yes, there are prejudices about the disease, even among people with the disease.

Heck, even I felt that way until I realized that my body just can’t handle carbohydrates the way a ‘normal’ person does. It wasn’t candy – it was starches, breads, chips, and the fact that most companies processing food add sugar to things because “it tastes better” (yes some companies even consider sugar flavoring)

I saw a post the other day – someone who was leaving a support group because they weren’t getting the support they needed/wanted. Was it a cry for help or someone getting to see themselves in a different light? I don’t know – I never saw the original exchange.

All I can say is – you aren’t everyone, and no one else is you – for better or worse, that’s the way it is.

Today’s Prompt: No one knows what you know.

Author: mtdecker

Just your average writer- which is to say, I have a full-time job developing and testing software.

Leave a comment